“Q.W.E.R.T.Y.: A Haunting” by Barbara Avon — BOOK REVIEW

About “Q.W.E.R.T.Y.: A Haunting” by Barbara Avon::

“In the tradition of “Twilight Zone”, Q.W.E.R.T.Y. takes you into another dimension. A place where all things are possible. Luke is an author and a widower. His aunt gifts him a Remington typewriter and he soon discovers that everything he types, comes true. “What if I can bring her back?”

In this novella, that is a cross between time travel and paranormal romance, you’ll read a compelling, poetic tale that follows Luke on a heart-breaking journey – one that will change everything.”

FiveStars

A poetically written dark romance that tugs on even the coldest of hearts. Each description is so beautiful that it leaves the reader yearning for more with a plot which makes one wonder how far they’d truly go to save the person they love.

True to its description, this story has an atmosphere reminiscent of “The Twilight Zone,” which I grew up watching (reruns). It was always one of my favorites, but who is that not true for? “Q.W.E.R.T.Y.” made me particularly nostalgic for “The Trouble with Templeton” episode and I have no doubt would have impressed Rod Serling.

Barbara Avon’s writing style is what some may call flowery. Nonetheless, the gorgeously written poetry doesn’t feel pretentious as with many who try too hard to make their descriptions ‘pretty.’ Her words are followed through with a haunting delivery of Luke’s strife as a dangerously depressed widower who finds a minuscule amount of solace behind the keys of an enchanted typewriter recently bequeathed to him.

As the story unfolded, I felt less like an observer and truly that I was being put in Luke’s head. The author manages to present each event and thought in a way that I became just as confused and agonized as the poor soul desperately trying to wade through an empty life without his one true love.

As he believes he may be able to return to his love or vice versa, we’re all hoping for a happy ending. Too bad we knew from the start that it wasn’t that kind of tale. What does wind up happening, however, may surprise you.

There’s not much more I can say on this novella without ruining the experience for others. It’s a quick and brilliant read, so I urge you all to take it in for yourselves.

You can purchase the ebook here: https://amzn.to/2Iv861r
or the paperback here: https://amzn.to/2PgNxHH

Also find Barbara Avon’s other work and follow her profile to receive email notifications when she publishes new stories here: https://amzn.to/2UyIg3T

Barbara Avon can also be found on:
Twitter: @barb_avon
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BarbaraAvonAuthor/
and her personal website: barbaraavon.com

Thank you for reading and please stay tuned for future reviews.

~Sahreth ‘Baphy’ Bowden

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s